Harnett County Schools and the State of North Carolina award two kinds of diplomas - General and NC Academic Scholars.
    Harnett County requires the completion of 26 units to fulfill graduation requirements.

    English (I, II, III, IV): 4 units 
    Mathematics (Math I, Math II, Math III, and an additional unit of mathematics aligned with post-secondary plans): 4 units 
    Science (Biology, Earth and Environmental, and a Physical science): 3 units
    Social Studies (World History, American History I and II, American History: The Founding Principles, Civics and Economics): 4 units
    Healthful Living : 1 unit
    Electives : 10 units 

    Total: 26 units


    Additional Requirements:

    Meeting CPR Requirements-(GCS-N-004) The NC State Board of Education (October 4, 2012) approved an update to the State Graduation Requirements Policy, GCS-N- 004, to include a new CPR graduation requirement. School districts should use POWERSCHOOL to verify successful completion of CPR. Once the student passes the grade 8 Healthful Living class, which includes the CPR instruction, or presents proof of CPR certification, he/she will have met the CPR requirement. 


    Students must maintain an unweighted grade point average of 3.5 and completion of all high school requirements for a high school diploma and the Academic Scholars program. Students must beginning planning for the program before entering ninth grade to ensure they obtain the most flexibility in their courses.  Students must maintain an overall "B" average for the NC Academic Scholars Program. Only courses taken in grades 9 -12 may be used to satisfy the NC Academic Scholars Program requirements.English (I, II, III, IV): 4 units 
    Mathematics (Math I, Math II, and Math III and a higher-level math course with Math III as prerequisite OR Integrated Mathematics I, II, III and a higher-level mathematics course with Integrated Mathematics III as the prerequisite): 4 units 
    Science (a Physics or Chemistry course, Biology and an Earth/Environmental Science Course): 3 units 
    Social Studies (World History, American History: The Founding Principles, Civics and Economics, American History I and II): 4 units 
    Healthful Living : 1 unit 
    Languages Other than English (two units of the same language): 2 units
    Career and Technical Education: 1 Unit 
    Electives:  Two (2) elective credits in a second language required for the UNC System Four (4) elective credits constituting a concentration recommended from one of the following: Career and Technical Education (CTE), JROTC, Arts Education, Second Languages, any other subject area:  6 units
    Advanced Courses:  Higher level courses taken during junior and/or senior years which carry 5 or 6 quality points such as: AP/IB -Dual or college equivalent course -Advanced CTE/CTE credentialing courses -On-line courses -Other honors or above designated courses 

    Total: 24 units (These 24 credits are part of the 26 required for HCS graduation.)