• Parents and Guardians,

    Due to the Coronavirus Disease 2019, all Driver’s Education Classes and Behind-the-Wheel Sessions are canceled until further notice. The next classroom session and Behind-the-Wheel training will begin once we have guidance from the Governor and the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. 

    This website will be updated once the guidelines have been released.


    Frequently Asked Questions

    Basic Information
    At its August 5, 2013 meeting, the Harnett County Schools Board of Education approved
    a $55 charge for any student who takes Driver Education. Due to significant reduction in State
    funding for the program, the General Assembly provided a provision in law to allow school districts
    to impose this charge.

    Students must be at least 14 years, 6 months old to register for a Driver Education class.
    Students are required to complete 30 hours in the driver education classroom and 6
    hours behind the wheel instruction.

    Driver education classes are scheduled throughout the school year and during the summer.
    Behind the wheel, driving is conducted after school, on Saturdays, and during the summer.
    The State created an additional provision for 2015-16 allowing students to obtain a waiver
    if they feel they are unable to pay the fee associated with driver education. For further information, please click on the Parent Letter tab and view the Frequently Asked Questions for Parents section. 

    If you still have questions after viewing the Frequently Asked Questions section, please contact Chris Mace, Director, at cmace@harnett.k12.nc.us or 910-814-3444.

    Additional Resources:
    NC DMV Website
    DMV Practice Test for North Carolina
    Driving Log Level 2
    Driving Log Level 3